Made with Moxie’s Prefontaine Shorts

I thought I would be clever and start sewing shorts before “shorts season” but by April it was already 80 degrees in St. Louis. We had a mild winter and I judge it that way because I did not get one snow day! As an adult, snow days are even more precious because they are so rare. Plus, I just love snow! Now, back to the sweltering summers. Sigh.Madewithmoxie

But, wait. Look at these babies! Made with Moxie created a pattern for super cute Prefontaine Shorts for Women sizes 0-24! They are available in her Etsy store: That Moxie Girl. If you google image search “Prefontaine Shorts” you can find several bloggers who have made them as fun as they want or as reserved as they want. There are a lot of great ideas out there!

Shorts are not easy for me to find. I have finally figured out that I need a 5″ inseam on my shorts, no more, no less. With a 3″ inseam it look like my crotch is eating my shorts as they ride up my thighs. I also want fun shorts that really make my plain summer t-shirts into an outfit. Most plus-size retailers seem to think that the answer to this is bedazzling. Stop gluing plastic gems to my butt! PLEASE! 

Finally, when I do find ones that I like, they are pricey. Torrid shorts, that I love, are between $38-$54. Old Navy pricing is better at $25-$40,but they no longer sell plus-sizes in stores and trying to get my size before they sell out online is damn near impossible. I’m down to 2 pairs for the whole summer. I miss winter already.

IMG_20160417_152645Once I pulled the trigger and bought my prefontaine shorts pattern I purchased 1.5 yards of Kaufman Manchester yarn dyed cotton in stone that was on clearance for $6. Then I found 1/2 inch double-fold bias tape bias tape that is the perfect sea-foam green to go with it. The colors look really beachy to me! This fabric is really hard to photograph. It is basically white and brown thread woven together to look tan, but as the light changes the color shifts!0After sewing for an hour, they already look like shorts! 1It was hard to see in the instructions, partially because I printed them in black and white, but here is the straight stitch from the front. I really couldn’t see it in any of the photos I had previously seen online! You can also see how I didn’t really follow the directions on the bias tape and just sewed along the outside of it. Learning!2On to the back of the shorts! Welt pocket collage! I was so proud of myself for learning how to make a welt pocket that I went a little picture crazy. The welt pocket that comes with the pattern is sized for a smartphone, most likely an iPhone which is thoughtful! My phone case is a little bit larger than that so I just made the pocket a bit larger.

It’s a pocket! A real, welt pocket! I know the stitching on top got away from me a little. I’m not sure what happened because the stitch on the top of the inside is perfectly straight but I’m just going to leave it. It will be my first time welt pocket reminder. Clearly I am not a perfectionist!12Ah. Here is something I did not follow directions on and this is totally my fault. I did not stitch in the ditch. I did watch a couple of videos and read up on it but A. I do not own an edge joining foot, yet. B. I cannot understand how it attaches two pieces. None of the tutorials I watched explained that. So instead I did this. I stitched on the bias tape in the front and then stitched down the same line to join the front and back pieces together. It doesn’t bother me, but all these bias tape tutorials used the same phrase, “Bias tape finishing only looks nice if it is done the right way.” Meh.  So I have ordered a stitch in the ditch foot and if anyone can recommend a good tutorial by all means let me know! 4Next comes the 1.25″ waist band. Just the usual for a waistband! And then, BAM! Shorts!5frontThat’s my phone in the back pocket! Have I mentioned that I LOVE pockets!backSee? Plain summer t-shirts are my summer uniform. These shorts are really comfortable! I am a big fan and will be making more! So I made mine in US size 24 and in 100% cotton and I did not make any adjustments. The instructions were pretty easy to follow and there were several options to change them up a little. I spent $10 on the pattern, that I will use many times; $6 on 1.5 yards of fabric, and there is some extra; $4 on pre-made bias tape and $4 on thread and 1.5″ elastic. So the total cost was $24! I mean, really, could these get any better? So truly if anyone has a stitch in the ditch tutorial to recommend please feel free to let me know!

 

6 thoughts on “Made with Moxie’s Prefontaine Shorts

  1. Ok, I’m completely unfamiliar with this pattern, but I’ll take a shot at the ‘stitch in the ditch’ question anyway on the chance it helps:) One side of double fold bias tape is actually slightly wider than the other – like 1/16 to 1/8″ wider. So if you attach the shorter side first, then fold the longer side over it will just cover the stitching line. Then you can stitch in the ditch on the first side – you should catch the second side. Here’s a link with pictures:
    http://www.victorypatterns.com/blog/2013/03/finishing-edges-with-bias-binding/
    Oh, and I have tried using an edge-joining foot, but I seem to do a better job stitching in the ditch with my regular foot where I can really see what I’m doing!
    Love the shorts! Such a great fabric/color combo!

    • Oh my gosh! That’s great! I never read anything about the sides being different sizes. I thought I had just attached it a little unevenly! Thank you! I will definitely be making another pair and will pay closer attention!

Leave a Reply

