5 of 4 Patterns: Pajama Pants

It’s finally starting to feel like fall in St. Louis. It’s time for over-sized sweaters, warm drinks in big mugs, and flannel pajama pants! Pajama pants are the very first item I learned to sew with a sewing machine. The only class I ever took used Simplicity 1494 which  is not a great pattern. If you have to adjust a lounge pants pattern multiple times so it won’t fit like a circus tent, even after sizing down twice, there is a problem. I think the only review I ever saw of it was 1 star.

I mentioned in my last post that I agreed to teach a beginner sewing class next year and one of the classes will be for pajama pants. I was trying to decide what pattern to recommend for students to purchase when I stumbled across a FREE pajama pants pattern sized xxs-3xl from 5 out of 4 Patterns. I can just direct them to this page to get their own copy. I ran out and bought some stunning flannel cat fabric and whipped them up in a couple of hours. Whee!

IMG_20161018_182400

These are THE pajama pants pattern for me! Let me rave about them a bit! First of all, they come with the option to add pockets. RIGHT???

IMG_20161016_142648

Second, they come with the option to create a lower rise waist if you don’t like high-waisted pj pants. I happen to like high-waisted pj pants, myself. (Sorry about the wrinkles! I did not feel the need to iron my fabric since I just wanted to see how the pattern came together very quickly.)

IMG_20161016_143849

Thirdly, and this is most impressive, they have cut-in the pattern on the legs below the knee for the larger sizes. This is very important because when clothing goes from smaller sizes to plus size, often times designers will just blow everything up while keeping the same proportions. But that is not how bodies work. I am not 7 feet tall and while my waist may be larger it does not mean that my ankles are the size of manhole covers, because nobody’s ankles are! So it means they fit better than just a straight cut of lounge pants.

pajama pants

IMG_20161018_200702

I also decided to try out a decorative stitch in a maroon color around the bottom hem. It’s so cute! I will be doing this to all my pajama pants from now on! By the way Target is selling Haunted Halloween Cat Houses and I kind of couldn’t resist!

Megan

IMG_20161009_114514

6 thoughts on “5 of 4 Patterns: Pajama Pants

Leave a Reply

