Tiny Bottle Cap Pin Cushions

I don’t know about you but I am forever knocking over my pincushion and filling my mouth with pins as I am sewing! Enter this tutorial for adorable little pincushions that you can stick to your sewing machine on Tea Rose Home’s blog! Everything is cuter when it is smaller, right?

1

Supplies needed:

  • Bottle caps
  • Scraps of fabric
  • Poly fill
  • Lace, ribbon or pompom trim (optional)
  • Hot glue gun
  • Needle and thread
  • Double-sided tape

2

The recommended circle size to cut out your fabric is 3 inches. I just traced around my pom pom ribbon spool and it was a little larger than 3 inches.

3

Then I sewed around the circle. I used orange thread so it would be easier to see!

4

Pull the thread to create a little pillow.

5

Stuff your little pillow with poly fill or steel wool or what ever you have on hand.

6

Sew that puppy up! It doesn’t have to look perfect because you are just going to hot glue it into the bottle cap!

7

8

Put some hot glue in the bottom of your bottle caps and press down.

9

You can skip the extra notions and just attach the double stick tape if you are happy with them like this. I like the extra touch!

10

Glue the trim around the top of the bottle cap.

11

If you have a metal machine or a magnetic bulletin board you could use magnets instead of tape. I cut a little double-sided tape and attached it to the bottom of the bottle cap. If you ever want to remove it the tape from your machine just use some Goo-Gone. It will not hurt plastic and the tape will fall off.

12

Boom! I’m right-handed so my pincushion tends to hang out right under my reverse stitch button. I attached my adorable little bottle cap pincushion to the right side of my machine!

13

Thank you, Tea Rose Home for the wonderful idea and tutorial!

Megan

One thought on “Tiny Bottle Cap Pin Cushions

Leave a Reply

