“Always wear clean underwear in case you get in an accident!”

“Always wear clean underwear in case you get in an accident!”

My Grandma used to say this before we left the house. I fell down a Google rabbit hole trying to figure out where this saying came from and why it even exists. I found nothing useful, except that almost everyone has heard this bizarre saying. Well, I try to wear decent underwear most days, but you know, laundry day happens.

1
Before

Over the holidays I decided to splurge and buy a couple of matching underwear and bra sets. I haven’t gotten around to making my own yet. I found this really cute pair, but they are a full brief cut. And I mean, full! They come up over my belly button. I decided to cut them down to a hipster style. It really wasn’t very difficult and a nice way to work on a new-to-me lingerie fabric. First I detached the elastic waistband. It was just attached with a twin needle and some really fluffy, stretchy thread!

2

3

Then I laid out a pair that fits well on top and pinned them at the edges.

4

The difference was about 2.5″ and I just pinned the raw edges together and sliced the extra off! Super quick and super easy!

5

I re-pinned the elastic waistband to the new raw edge. There was a lot of extra panty fabric compared to the waistband. I just made sure the side seams were lined up and stretched the panties out until the centers lined up with the centers of the elastic waistband.

6

I wasn’t sure how finicky the fabric would be as it is really slinky and thin. I used a stretch twin needle, and my regular poly-coated thread and it worked like a charm! Here you can see how much fabric is bunch up under the waistband. I just put the foot and needle down and then stretch both the waistband and fabric until they lined up are started sewing!

sewing collage
Here’s the back side. I will just trim the extra, but they fit exactly like my other hipsters!

10

So I altered an fancy pair of panties and I am pretty happy about it!

hipster collage

4 thoughts on ““Always wear clean underwear in case you get in an accident!”

  1. I’ve never tried sewing underwear either. Nor used a twin needle! Your alteration is great – hipster over full brief any day :p

Leave a Reply

