All the possibilities for a Rehearsal Dinner Dress

Warning: Wedding Post Ahead.

We are less than three months out from the wedding and since I am doing a lot of DIY it means I have not been doing a lot else.

I did find exactly what I was looking for in a clearance off the rack wedding dress, so I do not have the added stress of making my wedding dress. However, I would like to wear something me made to the rehearsal dinner. I cannot seem to make up my mind on a rehearsal dress pattern, fabric, or anything. Do I want to wear white? Do I want to wear something super fancy that I probably won’t wear again? Do I just want to be comfy? So many choices!

what do i do

So I am going to “talk it out,” so to speak, and see if I can come to some decisions. I started out with the pile of patterns below, knowing full well that vogue patterns seem to cause me more stress than the average pattern.

Rehearsal Dinner Dress
As you can see, I am looking at dresses with some drama!

Left to right, top row, then bottom row:

  • Butterick BP284/4954
  • Simplicity 8292
  • McCall’s 7316 – This model with the pixie hair cut makes me buy almost every pattern with her on the cover. She just looks like she is having so much fun!
  • McCall’s 7321
  • Vogue 1535 – Badgely Mischka
  • Simplicity 8047 – Another blogger made this and it is very cute. I just can’t decide if this would work on my body shape.
  • Vogue 1532 – Bellville Sassoon

Rehearsal Dinner Dress 2

Then I thought I had it narrowed down to Vogue 9238 and Butterick BP284/4954 after seeing this gorgeous version of V9238 by TipStitched. And…then I ran into a sale at Joann’s and picked up these two beauties for $1.99 each.

collage

I made a Cynthia Rowley pattern for my engagement photos and I loved it. I don’t ever think her designs are made with large-chested women in mind, but I think Simplicity 1801 would be gorgeous is a soft, flowy fabric. I have been toying with the idea of a sheer, flowery shirt dress with a lining, of course and that bandanna skirt on Simplicity 8384 looks like it could be nice, but perhaps a little casual. for a rehearsal dinner.

So…I am now leaning towards starting a muslin of Simplicity 1801 this weekend. What do you think? I appreciate any ideas!

Update: I found THE fabric!

Nate Berkus Home Decor Fabric Palms

I found this Nate Berkus upholstery fabric on clearance and I think it is perfect! It is slightly structured, and not a flowy fabric at all. So I may have to rethink everything again. I think this fabric would lend itself very well to the Cashmerette Upton. I would still be happy to entertain pattern suggestions!

6 thoughts on “All the possibilities for a Rehearsal Dinner Dress

  1. What a lovely selection of patterns! I’d have a hard time choosing too, but you’re right in that your fabric choice has narrowed the field. I think BP284 and S8047 could still work. Simplicity 1873 would look fantastic in that fabric too – I think the pattern cover dress is made from brocade or something so it would definitely work with a stiff fabric which would add drama to the pleated skirt.

    • Thank you so much! It is so helpful to have other people look at these and let me know what could work. Sometimes I just can’t visualize all the possibilities. That is a skill!

  2. Thank you for the shout out! I love Vogue 9138, I’m working on another one right now actually (it’s not for me). I think Simplicity 8292 is very nice and might work with the fabric you’ve selected. That fabric is gorgeous, BTW.

Leave a Reply

