Simplicity 8379: I need at least 5 more of these dresses.

This dress came out of nowhere! Honestly, I stumbled across the pattern on sale and then turned around and bought some green spandex knit jersey. It wasn’t on my list of things to make at all. 3 hours later I had a dress I am madly in love with. I have had it for 2 weeks and have worn it 3 times.

6

Oh yeah, and when I put this bolt of fabric on the counter to be cut I said something like, “I just love that color!” The lady cutting it replied, “Well, I hate it. I think green is hideous.” Hahaha! What do you even say to that? I love it when things like that happen. You know what’s great about sewing is that it has boosted my self-confidence enough that I didn’t care that she thought I was making something hideous. Who cares? Not me!
1

I am usually a 22-24 in RTW dresses. I cut an XXL but I could really go down to an XL. This is very roomy and it is supposed to be. I made only 2 alterations. First I added 2 inches to the length of the dress. It is supposed to be a pretty short dress, but I don’t think my change in length hurt it. I didn’t alter the draping at all. Next I added sleeves. I just followed these sleeve instructions on Kyla Hislop’s blog.

2

The sleeves turned out pretty great! I finished the sleeves and the bottom hem with a twin needle. Easy!

3

The front and back piece are exactly the same. It wouldn’t be difficult to add a v neck or a scoop neck if you wanted to. I added one of my Dutch Label tags so I could quickly tell the back from the front. A lot of times I forget to add the label until it is too late!

5

And here it is! In all it’s drapey, cool glory! I forgot to mention, this dress makes me feel like a cool kid.

collage 1

Oh, and you know what else I love? No Spanx! I like that I can just throw this on and go! I am not pulling up a foundation garment all the time.

collage 2

I highly recommend this dress! Even adding sleeves, I finished this in 3 hours. I just bought some black spandex knit and I will be making another one immediately!

Happy Sewing!

10

43 thoughts on “Simplicity 8379: I need at least 5 more of these dresses.

  1. It’s a lovely dress, andeven just in pictures it’s visible you feel suoer good in it!
    Also I like that you added sleeves. The original model photo feels a bit meh to me, but I find your version so stylish and comfy looking!

  2. That’s a wonderful dress, I can’t believe anyone wouldn’t like that color green on you! I especially love how drape-y it seems—looks like the perfect combination of comfort and fashion!

  3. WoW! You look fabulous in this color & the style looks super comfy too. Love the sleeves & so easy & quick to make. Add a sash or belt, some chunky jewelery & you’d have a total different look.
    Congrats on doing you!
    Baa

  4. I have been wanting to make this pattern. Seeing how great this looks, I have to make it. Thanks for sharing.

  5. I’ve definitely had the cutting lady judge me for color choices too… I pulled out this rust brown lace knit fabric, and she gave me this sneer and said, “What can you even make in that color!” So I replied, “I don’t know, I just like that it matches my hair!” She really didn’t have anything to say after that response…
    Beautiful dress in a gorgeous color!

  6. Ha-ha on the fabric lady. She’d better hope her boss didn’t hear her say that–supposed to be well-representing the store. Tsk-Tsk. Well, enough of that … Love, love, love that dress on you. The color is just right. By all means, make more. So many possibilities…longer sleeves, shorter length to wear with slacks or leggings, different necklines, color blocking–this is a great pattern.

  7. Looks great. Thanks for the sleeve instructions. Perfect timing! I was wondering how to add sleeves to a garment. Can’t wait to see more off them.

Leave a Reply

